You Choose Award winners 2010

For inspiration, download their winning applications.


Andrew Baker, RSMAS, for his application to organize a one-day communications workshop to teach oceans scientists effective methods for communicating their research to policymakers, the public and the media. Proposal


Laura Bianchi, Miller School of Medicine, for her application to bring in prominent women in Physiology and Biophysics to give research seminars and engage in mentoring activities. Proposal


Villy Kourafalou, RSMAS, for her application to participate as a leader in the international science team meeting for global ocean data assimilation and experiment OceanView.Proposal


Wen-Hsiang Lee, Miller School of Medicine, for her application to host educational forums aimed at navigating the promotions and tenure process. Each forum will consist of a presentation by members of the Promotion and Tenure Committee, a panel discussion, a networking event and a follow-up evaluation. Proposal


Pamela Monje, Miller School of Medicine, for her application to mount a Workshop on Group Support to Accomplish Success in the Academic Environment, led by Dr. Ellen Daniell, author of the book “Every Other Thursday”: Stories and Strategies from Successful Women Scientists Proposal

 blythe-nobleman helena-solo-gabriele

Blythe Nobleman and Helena Solo-Gabriele, College of Engineering, for their application to organize a one-day writing workshop led by Judith Swan of Princeton that will be particularly focused on effective writing for faculty and postdoctoral associates as well as for writing mentors.Proposal. Final Report